Again…today

I read the letter you wrote me …twice today..
I looked between every letter and line
To try to read your mind
Took special notice
In the way you made your A
I planted flowers today
I swept the porch grey
Found your sock
Under a rug
Thought you were a lost soul
It is so quiet all around
I hear the birds sing
And once you told me
In the park
It was your favorite sound
Just a little
I cried today
I know forever
We’ve gone away
I’m being brave
Talked to another man
Made a plan
To meet for tea
In hopes it keeps your thoughts from me
It worked well 
When you did it that way
I read your letter again
And again…. today

Leave a Reply

